QFCUH picture
FRNLEN

>>Research at QFCUH

The search for innovative therapeutics conditions the effectiveness and diversity of the treatments offered. It plays an essential role in the control and quality of clinical activity through the updating of techniques, the evaluation of care protocols and new drugs, fundamental research and its multiple applications. Every year at QFCUH, between 30 and 50 new drugs are administered to patients according to the strict Helsinki international rules, so that children benefit from treatments for cancer, metabolic diseases or genetic diseases such as cystic fibrosis, for example. It is essential for Europe that children also access medicines developed by pharmaceutical companies, which was, for a long time, very difficult to obtain. However, some progress has been booked on this matter since 2005.

Taking care of a sick child takes time. He or she must be put at ease before being able to proceed with the investigations. Everything is done to avoid pain. Non-invasive techniques are used. They are more complex and more expensive than direct techniques used with adults and require devices and equipment adapted to children of different ages. In addition, there is no voluntary control subject in pediatrics, whereas in adult medicine it is quite different. This makes pediatric research much more complex.

Active participation in scientific progress therefore requires constant investment in people and equipment. It implies a close relationship between hospital teams and the research laboratories of the Faculties of Medicine and Schools of Public Health (ULB and VUB), with steady concern for innovation and rigor in the conduct of clinical studies in humans.

The QFCUH has invested in the development of local structures (Kids' Fund), some of which are officially recognized by the Université Libre de Bruxelles (Pediatrics Laboratory). Our Scientific Fund (Belgian Kids' Fund for Pediatric Research), which was created 25 years ago by physicians of the institution, has distributed nearly 200 research grants during this period and has enabled young physicians or academics working in pediatric research to complete nearly 70 doctoral theses. This activity, in addition to providing a better understanding of children's diseases and therefore better treatment, has offered these young academics the opportunity to become teachers themselves and to occupy positions of responsibility in the hospital or within the hospital network of the University.

The University's Pediatrics Laboratory, located right next to the hospital, in the buildings of Queen Elizabeth Foundation, is the most important laboratory for the detection of metabolic diseases in Belgium, evaluating more than 50,000 children out of the 120,000 annual Belgian births. In addition to this crucial activity, it also focuses on fundamental research in the field of rare diseases, but also in the early stages of inflammation and children's innate immunity. In the future, it will be the starting point of what will become a Pediatric Research Institute, supported by the forthcoming construction of a building next to the Childrens’ Hospital.

About the Research Department

Since 2020, QFCUH has created a new Research Department in order to further develop in-house research activities, a sector that has already flourished for many years, and also with the aim of creating a Research Institute in the coming years.

Professor Georges Casimir, for a long time the institution's Medical General Director, has been appointed Director of Research. He is also Secretary of the Scientific Foundation of the QFCUH (Belgian Kids' Fund for Pediatric Research) which celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2021 and becomes the President of the Royal Academy of Medicine the same year. He will work in close collaboration with Professor Alec Aeby, Research Advisor within the Medical Directorate and with all the medical and nursing departments. The part related to pharmaceutical research is dependent on the sponsored clinical research unit, which is led by Dr. Thierry Schurmans and Bernard Wenderickx, Nurse Coordinator of Applied Research.



LaboratoryMicroscopeLaboratory

Photo HUDERF
FRNLEN

>>La recherche au sein de l'HUDERF

La recherche de thérapeutiques innovantes conditionne l'efficacité et la diversité des traitements offerts. Elle joue un rôle essentiel dans le contrôle et la qualité de l'activité clinique par la mise à jour des techniques, l'évaluation des protocoles de soins suivis et de nouveaux médicaments, la recherche fondamentale et ses applications multiples. A l’HUDERF, chaque année, entre 30 et 50 nouveaux médicaments sont administrés à des patients selon les règles internationales strictes d’Helsinki, afin que nos enfants puissent bénéficier de traitements dans le cadre de maladies graves telles des cancers, des maladies métaboliques ou des maladies génétiques comme la mucoviscidose par exemple. Il est essentiel pour l’Europe que les enfants disposent aussi des médicaments mis au point par des firmes pharmaceutiques, ce qui a été longtemps très difficile d’obtenir, mais qui progresse maintenant depuis 2005.

La difficulté en pédiatrie est le temps nécessaire à l'approche de l'enfant malade. Il faut le mettre en confiance avant de pouvoir procéder aux investigations. Tout est fait pour éviter la douleur à l'enfant. Des techniques non-invasives sont utilisées. Elles sont plus complexes et plus onéreuses que les techniques directes employées chez l'adulte et nécessitent des appareils et de l'équipement adaptés à des enfants d'âges différents. En outre, il n'existe pas de sujet témoin volontaire en pédiatrie, alors que, en médecine adulte il en va tout autrement. La recherche en pédiatrie est de ce fait rendue bien plus complexe.

La participation active aux progrès scientifiques exige donc un investissement constant en hommes et en matériel. Elle implique une relation étroite des équipes hospitalières avec les laboratoires de recherche des Facultés de Médecine et des Écoles de Santé Publique (ULB et VUB), et un souci constant d’innovation et de rigueur dans la conduite des études cliniques chez l’homme.

L'HUDERF s'est investi dans le développement de structures locales (Kids' Fund) dont certaines bénéficient d'une reconnaissance officielle par l'Université Libre de Bruxelles (Laboratoire de Pédiatrie). Notre Fond Scientifique (Belgian Kids’Fund for Pediatric Research) né de la volonté des médecins de l’Institution il y a 25 ans a distribué près de 200 bourses de recherche durant cette période et permis à de jeunes médecins ou universitaires travaillant dans la recherche pédiatrique de réaliser près de 70 thèses de doctorat. Cette activité, outre de permettre de mieux comprendre les maladies de l’enfant et donc de mieux les soigner, a offert à ces jeunes universitaires la possibilité de devenir eux-mêmes des enseignants et d’occuper des postes de responsabilité dans ‘hôpital ou dans le réseau hospitalier de l’Université.

Le laboratoire de Pédiatrie de l’Université, siégeant juste à côté de l’Hôpital dans la Fondation Reine Élisabeth, est le plus important laboratoire de dépistage des maladies métaboliques en Belgique, évaluant plus de 50.000 enfants sur les 120.000 naissances belges annuelles. Outre cette activité capitale, il concentre aussi des activités de recherche fondamentales dans le domaine de maladies rares, mais aussi dans celui des prémices de l’inflammation et de l’immunité innée de l’enfant. Il sera dans l’avenir le point de départ de ce qui deviendra un Institut de recherche pédiatrique porté par la construction prochaine d’un bâtiment à côté de l’Hôpital.


La direction de la recherche

Depuis 2020, l’HUDERF a créé une nouvelle Direction, celle de la Recherche afin de développer en interne davantage encore les activités de recherche, secteur déjà florissant depuis de longues années; mais aussi dans le but de créer un Institut de Recherche dans les prochaines années.

Le Professeur Georges Casimir, longtemps Directeur Général Médical de l’institution, a été nommé Directeur de la recherche dans le département de la Direction générale. Il est aussi Secrétaire de la Fondation Scientifique de l’HUDERF (Belgian Kids’Fund for Pediatric Research) qui fête ses 25 ans en 2021 et devient le Président de l’Académie Royale de Médecine la même année. Il travaillera en étroite collaboration avec le Professeur Alec Aeby, Conseiller de la Recherche au sein de la Direction médicale et avec l’ensemble des départements médicaux et du département infirmier. La partie relative à la recherche pharmaceutique est dépendante de la cellule de recherche clinique sponsorisée, qu’animent le Docteur Thierry Schurmans et Bernard Wenderickx, infirmier coordinateur de recherche appliquée.


Tubes laboMicroscope laboPipettes labo